Dean Search – Official Materials

Official Announcement

The College of Computing at Georgia Tech is seeking its third Dean. The chief academic and administrative officer of the College, this individual will report to the Georgia Tech Provost and also hold the title of John P. Imlay, Jr. Dean’s Chair. For more information, please read the Institute’s official announcement.

Position Description

Read the full position description being used by the search team, including areas of responsibilities, ideal candidate profile and nomination information.


Please forward all candidate nominations to GIT-DeanComputing [at] russellreynolds [dot] com (Matt Aiello) of the search firm Russell Reynolds Associates.

Candidate Interview Questions

Download candidate interview questions.

Search Committee Members

Gary May (chair)
Professor and Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rosa Arriaga
Senior Research Scientist, Interactive Computing
Henrik Christensen
Professor, Interactive Computing
Nick Feamster
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Marta Garcia
Associate Vice President, Development
Rebecca Grinter
Associate Dean, Graduate Affairs, and Associate Professor, Interactive Computing
Charles Isbell
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Affairs, and Associate Professor, Interactive Computing
Wenke Lee
Associate Professor, Computer Science
James McGarrah
Director of Research, Georgia Tech Research Institute
Janet Murray
Professor, Literature, Communication and Culture
Thomas Noonan
Former Chairman, President and CEO, IBM Internet Security Systems Inc.
and Chair, CoC Advisory Board
Haesun Park
Professor, Computational Science and Engineering
Bryan Payne
Graduate Student, Computer Science
Pamela Ruffin
Director of Human Resources and Administration, College of Computing
David Sherrill
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Jennifer Whitlow
Undergraduate Student, Computational Media

Provost's Advisory Group

The College of Computing’s interface with industry has been and will continue to be essential to its success. The Provost’s Advisory Group is comprised of experienced and accomplished alumni and friends of the College who are uniquely qualified to assess the qualifications of the top candidates and advise the Provost on each individual’s strengths and weaknesses relative to the College and the needs, landscape and future of the computing industry.

The group will meet with the Provost and the chair of the search committee early in the search process to discuss the group’s charge, plans, and timeline. Later in the process, the group will be asked to meet with each of the final candidates, and then provide the Provost with an assessment and advice.

Joe Bankoff
President, Woodruff Arts Center
Keith Cooley
Vice President, Engineering, Oversight Systems
Bill Goodhew
Vice President, Intelligent Systems Corporation
John Imlay
Chairman, Imlay Investments, Inc.
Chris Klaus
CEO/Founder, Kaneva
Jim Lester
David McCoy
Managing Vice President, Gartner Fellow Emeritus, Gartner
Jim McKnight
COO, Cox Enterprises
Said Mohammadioun
Managing Partner, TechOperators, LLC

Search Firm

Georgia Tech has retained Russell Reynolds Associates, an international search firm with expertise in higher education, to assist with the process. Working directly with the search committee and prospective candidates will be Russell Reynolds personnel Matt Aiello, Ilene Nagel and Matt Mooney.