ACM Names Four College of Computing Faculty out of 30 Fellows as Information Technology Achievers

January 4, 2004

Four College of Computing (CoC) faculty help comprise 30 new Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellows selected this year for their contributions in computer science and information technology. CoC’s Mostafa Ammar, Rich DeMillo, Mary Jean Harrold and Ramesh Jain join a distinguished list of colleagues from leading universities, corporations and research labs throughout the world to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership.

Reflecting the scope and extent of the computing field, the 2003 ACM Fellows were cited for contributions to everything from wireless telecommunications to network services, bioinformatics, Internet architecture, secure database management, and artificial intelligence, among others.

“This year’s ACM Fellows join the ranks of outstanding ACM members who have contributed to the computing community through distinguished service and significant achievements in information technology,” said John White, CEO of ACM. “By their contributions, they have advanced the computing discipline and its increasingly critical role in society in countless ways."

It is quite impressive and possibly an unprecedented honor to have four of the 30 ACM Fellows from one institution, so Congratulations to CoC Faculty, and specifically to:

Mostafa Ammar - For contributions to the design of systems and protocols for scalable network services.

Richard DeMillo - For contributions to the engineering of reliable and secure software.

Mary Jean Harrold - For contributions in software engineering.

Ramesh Jain - For contributions to computer vision and multimedia information systems.

ACM will formally recognize the new Fellows at its annual Awards Banquet in the spring of 2004. Additional information about the ACM 2003 Fellows, the awards event, as well as previous ACM Fellows and award winners is available at

Initiated in 1993, the Fellows program celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. They reflect the makeup of ACM’s diverse membership roster, with representation from men and women, from universities and corporations, from North America and abroad.


Rakesh Agrawal - IBM Almaden Research Center

Mostafa Ammar - Georgia Institute of Technology

Victor Bahl - Microsoft Research

Bonnie Berger – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elisa Bertino - University of Milano

John Carroll – Pennsylvania State University

Richard DeMillo - Georgia Institute of Technology

Barbara J. Grosz - Harvard University

Brent Hailpern – IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

Jiawei Han - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mary Jean Harrold - Georgia Institute of Technology

Peter E. Hart - Ricoh Innovations, Inc.

Mark Horowitz - Stanford University

Paul Hudak - Yale University

H.V. Jagadish - University of Michigan

Anil Jain - Michigan State University

Ramesh Jain - Georgia Institute of Technology

Niraj Jha - Princeton University

Dexter Kozen - Cornell University

Yi-Bing Lin - National Chiao Tung University

Kathleen McKeown - Columbia University

Thomas P. Moran - IBM Almaden Research Center

Eugene W. Myers - University of California-Berkeley

Craig Partridge - BBN Technologies

Daniel Reed – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Stuart J. Russell - University of California, Berkeley

William H. Sanders - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scott Shenker - University of California, Berkeley/International Computer Science Institute

Gurindar Sohi - University of Wisconsin

Cornelis J. van Rijsbergen - University of Glasgow