College Honors Its Own at 20th Annual Awards Celebration

April 27, 2011

Nearly three dozen students, faculty and staff picked up awards from the College of Computing on April 26 in a ceremony that marked two full decades of Awards Celebrations for the College—and the first for Dean Zvi Galil.

“This is a very special day,” Galil said in welcoming the students, employees, friends and family in attendance. “We’re here to honor the best, brightest and hardest working of the many talented people who collectively make up the College of Computing.”

Walking away with the day’s top honor, the Dean’s Award, were professors and chairs Aaron Bobick and Ellen Zegura, who lead the schools of Interactive Computing (IC) and Computer Science (CS), respectively. Each has led his or her area since before the College formally divided into schools in 2006, and each continues to lead while the College conducts nationwide searches for new IC and CS chairs.

“For everything they’ve done and continue to do on behalf of the College,” Galil said, “I can’t think of two better choices for the Dean’s Award than Ellen and Aaron.”

In all, some 33 students, faculty and staff received awards from the College, and many more were publicly recognized for other achievements during the ceremony. Click here for a full list of present and past award winners, and a photo album of all College award recipients is up on the College’s Flickr stream.