CS International Honor Society Taps Computing Faculty, Students

April 24, 2007

(April 24, 2007) - Fifty-three College of Computing undergraduates, graduate students and two faculty have been tapped into the Upisilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) International Honor Society for Computer Science. UPE is the first and only, existing international honor society in the Computing and Information disciplines. UPE Advisors for the College of Computing are Jim Foley and Maureen Biggers. Undergraduate student Kathy Pham is serving as President.

A candlelight ceremony was held in the Klaus Advanced Computing Building on April 17, 2007. Family, friends and faculty guests attended the ceremony and a reception which followed. Each member was presented with a pin and a gold braid for graduating seniors signifies UPE membership.

The mission of UPE is to recognize academic excellence at both the undergraduate and graduate levels in the Computing and Information Disciplines. UPE is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS) and has received endorsements from the two largest computer organizations in the world, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS). UPE is also a charter member of The International Federation of Engineering Education Societies (IFEES). UPE members enjoy membership in both the national and GT student chapter of ACM.

Congratulations to the following people: Summer Adams, Nova Ahmed, Martin Ahrens, Roland Alberciak, Jay Anderson, Ji Bae, Troy Brant ,Celeste Buckhalter, Benjamin Chambers, Nigel Chan, Mark Dejesus, Jared Eisner, Megan Elmore, Dawn Finney, Katherine Flinn, Jordan Garner, Carolina Gomez, April Headen, Stephen Hilber, David Hilley, Blake Israel, Kipp Jones, John Kelly, James King, Gaurishankar Krishnan, Matt Kurjanowicz, Vanessa Larco, Dongryeol Lee, Ming Li, John Meyer, Michael Orr , Chris Parnin, Bryan Payne, Kathy Pham, Michael Pieper, Andrew Roberts, David Schachter, John Schuler, Daniel Shaw, Jonathon Skypek, Aaron St. Clair, Theodoros Stotis, Kevin Tan, Garret Thompson, Alan Wagner, Elspeth Watson, John White, Frank Bennett Wilson, Elizabeth York, Samuel Young, Jose Zagal , Maureen Biggers, and Jim Foley.