First Foley Scholars Named

October 22, 2008

The Foley Scholars Endowment has named Kelly Caine, a Ph.D. student in
the School of Psychology, and Christopher Le Dantec, a Ph.D. student
specializing in human-centered computing from the School of
Interactive Computing, as the 2008-2009 Foley Scholars. The Foley Scholars
Endowment was established a year ago during the 15th Anniversary of
the GVU Center and each year provides direct financial gifts of $5,000 to
two outstanding graduate students active in research at GVU. The award
was established by colleagues of Jim Foley and GVU alumni to honor
Foley’s significant contributions in the field of computing, his
influence on the work of others and his dedication to the development
of new research directions. This year's Foley Scholars were selected by
an advisory board comprised of GVU alumni, current faculty and industry
partners. Caine and Le Dantec were selected from a group
of eight finalists: Ben Davison, Nick Diakopoulos, Marshini Chetty,
Matt Flagg, Erika Poole and Thomas Smyth, all Ph.D. students in
computing. The finalists and recipients of this year’s Foley
Scholarship were honored at a dinner co-hosted by long-time GVU
industrial partner Motorola on October 22.