Two New Faculty Win Prestigious Thesis Award

August 7, 2006

(August 8, 2006)--College of Computing Assistant Professors Yael Kalai and Nick Feamster are winners of this year's George M. Sprowls Award for the best doctoral theses in computer science. After reading a collection of excellent theses nominated by their supervisors, a distinguished committee at MIT decided to award two of the five Sprowls to College of Computing faculty.

Yael Kalai wrote Attacks on the Fiat-Shamir Paradigm and Program Obfuscation which was then nominated for consideration by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) national contest. An honorable mention was awarded to Nick Feamster for Proactive Techniques for Correct and Provable Internet Routing. All five Spowls theses are remarkable, and the College of Computing authors are congratulated on their achievements.

To read Yael Kalai’s thesis, click here.
To read Nick Feamster’s thesis, click here.