CS 3510 -- Design and Analysis of Algorithms

[Main Page]


 
Topics
Date(s)
Reading
Introduction to running times and the analysis of algorithms

Divide and conquer algorithms
Probabilistic Analysis and Randomized Algorithms.
Friday, Jan 14
to
Wednesday, Feb 9

[CLRS] Chapters 2,3, 4, 5 and 7.

Quiz 1
Friday, February 11
It will cover [CLRS] Chapter 2,3, 4.
Graph algorithms:
DFS, topological sorting, strongly connected components
BFS, Shortest paths and Dijkstra's Algorithm, Min-Heaps
Minimum Spanning Trees (MST)
Monday, Feb 14
to
Monday, March 7

[CLRS] Chapters 19,21,22,23,24.

Quiz 2
Wednesday, March 9
It will cover [CLRS] Chapters 19, 21, 22,23,24.

Dynamic Programming

Friday, March 11
to
Wednesday, April 6

[CLRS] Chapters 15 and 25.
Quiz 3
Friday, April 8
It will cover [CLRS] Chapters 15 and 25.
NP-completeness, reductions
Coping with NP-completeness
Mon, April 11
to
Mon, Apr 20

[CLRS] Chapters 34 and 35.
Quiz 4
Friday, April 22
It will cover [CLRS] Chapters 34 and 35.
Special Topics: Game Theory and Machine Learning
Monday, Apr 25
to
Friday, Apr 29