2020 College of Computing Awards

29th Annual College of Computing Awards

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

In the midst of all the uncertainties with the coronavirus, I am happy to share some bright and uplifting news with you all.

The College of Computing Awards Committee has concluded its deliberations and chosen the recipients for the GT Computing awards this year. Alas, we cannot have the regular show with pomp and splendor in the Klaus Atrium to celebrate the winners as we usually do.

Nevertheless, through this letter, I want to congratulate the winners this year! Each and every one of the winners should feel proud since the slate of nominees and their accomplishments had the awards committee work overtime to decide the winners!

And, I also want to add to those who were nominated for the different categories of awards that the committee was awed by the talent that surrounds us in the College. Being recognized by your peers as worthy of being nominated makes you all winners already.

I want to take a moment to thank all of the nominators who took the time to appreciate their peers and created thoughtful nomination packages. Without you all doing this preparatory work, the awards committee would have had no work (like the Maytag repairman commercial for those who can remember!).

The nomination process was streamlined through the Qualtrics survey form, and much thanks to Elijah Cameron for getting the awards committee started on this form.

Alicia Richhart and Cynthia Bryant in the College office are a pleasure to work with and they made my job as the chair of the awards committee smooth and painless, and most importantly, they kept me on my toes with timely reminders so that I don’t drop the ball!

Finally, my BIG thanks to the members of the College Awards Committee. They are all very busy individuals but they have answered my bugle call throughout the year, not only for the College awards selection process, but also for various other nomination decisions, both internal and external to Georgia Tech.

With best wishes,

Umakishore Ramachandran
Professor, School of Computer Science
Chair, College Awards Committee

A Message from the Dean

And The Winners Are...