Group photo Georgia Tech Computing Dean Charles Isbell with OMSCS advising team during awards event

College Community Celebrates Excellence

The advising team for the Online Master of Science in Computer Science (OMSCS) program is one of dozens of award winners announced today as part of the 32nd Annual College of Computing Awards.

More than 160 guests joined Georgia Tech Dean of Computing Charles Isbell for the awards celebration held in the Klaus Building Atrium. The awards are held each spring and recognize the academic, research, and professional achievements of the GT Computing community.

“We come together every spring to honor the best among us, and to be inspired by their hard work,” said Isbell, who also serves as the John P. Imlay Jr. Computing Chair. “This is an event where we get to celebrate each other, celebrate the College and all the great things that we do together.”

GT Computing Dean Isbell group photo with student award winners
The OMSCS advising team (top) and winners of the Donald V. Jackson Fellowship award with GT Computing Dean Charles Isbell. (Photos by Terence Rushing/College of Computing)

Students, faculty, and staff from the College and each of its five schools are among the nearly 40 award winners. The OMSCS advising team received The Outstanding Academic Advising Award for its efforts to meet the needs of enrolled students in the US and abroad.

“The team handles all academic advising for OMSCS – around 11,000 students. The OMSCS advisors do so many things that go above and beyond what I would have ever expected them to do,” said David Joyner, executive director of OMSCS, in his nomination letter.

A complete list of 2023 College of Computing Award Winners is included at the bottom of this page.

The celebration also honored the College faculty and staff members that have received 2023 Institute Awards. These awards recognize academic, research, and community service excellence. The recipients are:

  • Ellen Zegura (SCS), Class of 1934 Outstanding Interdisciplinary Award
  • Polo Chau (CSE), Senior Faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award
  • Daurette Joseph (Staff), Acting with Ethics First Award
  • Birney Robert (Staff), Service to the Community Award
  • David Joyner (OMSCS), Outstanding Professional Education
  • Max Mahdi Roozbahani (CSE), Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher

A highly anticipated part of each year’s celebration is the announcement of the Dean’s Office Awards recipients (see sidebar). The 2023 winners are:

  • Kevin Beasley (Staff), Dean’s Award
  • Srijan Kumar (CSE), The James D. Lester III Endowment Award 

More information is available about the College’s Annual Awards program including award details, a nomination form, and a listing of past winners.

2023 College of Computing Award Winners


Faculty Awards 

Outstanding Senior Faculty Research 

Moin Qureshi 

Outstanding Mid-Career Faculty Research 

Andrea Parker 

Outstanding Junior Faculty Research 

Zsolt Kira 

Outstanding Research Scientist 

No nominees 

Outstanding Post-Doctoral Research  

Daniel Gibney 

Outstanding Instructional Associate 

Robert W. Donaldson 

William A. "gus" Baird Faculty Teaching 

Sashank Varma 

William D. "Bill" Leahy Jr. Outstanding Instructor 

Ronnie Howard 

Monica Sweat Outstanding Lecturer in External Engagement 

Olufisayo Omojokun 

Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching 

Alexandros Daglis 

Outstanding Faculty Leadership 

Srinivas Aluru 

Outstanding Faculty Mentoring 

Ellen Zegura 

Outstanding Research Faculty Leadership 

Carrie Bruce 

Staff Awards 

Outstanding Academic Advising 

OMSCS Academic Advisors / Reina Grundhoefer 

Outstanding Staff Community Building 

Briana Lampert 

Outstanding Staff Impact 

Birney Robert, Bryant Wine 

Outstanding Staff Leadership 

Dimetra Harris 

Outstanding Staff Mentoring 

Patricia Allen 

Ruthie Book Outstanding Staff Team Member 

Antwuan Holloway 

Undergraduate Student Awards 

Outstanding 1st Year Leadership 

Aishwarya Chakravarthy 

Outstanding 2nd Year Leadership 

Pratham Mehta 

Outstanding 3rd Year Leadership 

Nivedita Chellam 

Outstanding Legacy Leadership 

Isha Palakurthy 

Outstanding Undergraduate Head Teaching Assistant 

Akshay Patil 

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant 

Liam Jones 

Outstanding Undergraduate Research 

Qi Zeng 

Graduate Student Awards 

Outstanding MS Research 

Gunjan Aggarwal 

Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant 

Joanne Truong 

Haoran You 

Outstanding Graduate Head Teaching Assistant 

Ruijia Wang 

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Marina Vemmou 

Rising Star Doctoral Student Research 

Agam Shah 

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award 

Erik Wijmans (IC) 

Harshit Gupta (SCS) 

Nilaksh Das (CSE) 

David Heath (SCP) 

The Donald V. Jackson Fellowship 

Tanya Garg (SCS) 

Alex Young (CSE) 

Ten Gemicoglu (IC) 


The Marshal D. Williamson Fellowship  

Raj Sanjay Shah (CS) 

Yingchen Ma (CSE) 

Khalil Sayid (HCI) 

Gayathri Rajakumar (Info Sec) 

2023 Dean's Office Award Winners
  • Staff videographer Kevin Beasley received the Dean's Award in recognition of his video storytelling work that communicates student, faculty, and staff achievements and positively impacts the GT Computing community.
  • Assistant Professor Srijan Kumar is the recipient of the James D. Lester III Endowment Award, which recognizes his efforts to predict hate crimes, combat misinformation, and other work that has brought widespread recognition to the Institute.